Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Mahoney's Camaro : a crime novel
2019
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary

Racing to find a killer before he strikes again, an unlikely investigator is haunted by an even more unlikely source in this gripping crime novel

"Clark writes well and has created some amusingly zany characters." -- Publishers Weekly on Clean Sweep

It's the summer of 1985 and mechanic Steve Mahoney is dreaming big about owning his own shop. He's getting there as slowly as possible, working one night shift at a time for a local towing company. One night, called to retrieve a car from the murky Red River, Mahoney finds the replacement body to his prized but damaged '67 Camaro. There's also a body inside the car, handcuffed to the steering wheel. Mahoney's able to snap the Camaro up cheap at a salvage auction, but once he's restored the car to its former glory, he discovers that its last driver is standard spectral equipment on his new ride, and she's not leaving until she finds out who sent her to a watery grave.

Mahoney's Camaro is a gritty, fast-paced crime novel that will appeal to fans of Ron Corbett and Stuart MacBride. Combining expertise in the automotive world and a passion for storytelling, Michael J. Clark delivers an action-packed joyride that will grip you until the last page.

Trade Reviews
Booklist Review
Steve Mahoney is running the tow truck when a Camaro, holding a dead woman in the driver's seat, has to be pulled out of the mucky waters of Winnipeg's Red River. Who was she? Was she murdered? A suicide? These questions interest everybody but Mahoney, who has his eye on that car. If he can grab it, it can replace his love object: a banged-up 1967 Camaro. He's forced to play detective when author Clark pulls a Stephen King on us: the woman's ghost appears and won't let him have the car to himself until he discovers the truth of her death. That's the setup, and unraveling it would have made a crackerjack novel, even if you think this woo-woo stuff doesn't belong. But the spooky moments are the best, and it's too bad Clark has them alternate with lengthy, slow-moving scenes built around cars and cocaine. Motorheads will love this novel, with its talk of tranny pans and output shaft seals, while the rest of us will long for a blue editing pencil to unearth the fine procedural buried under the hood.--Don Crinklaw Copyright 2019 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1