Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The winemaker's wife
2019
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary
Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star

"Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past...fantastic!" --Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

The author of the "engrossing" ( People ) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale .

Champagne, 1940: Inès has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade. As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance . Inès fears they'll be exposed, but for Céline, half-Jewish wife of Chauveau's chef de cave , the risk is even greater--rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate.

When Céline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness, and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they love--and the champagne house that ties them together.

New York, 2019: Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive--and a tragic, decades-old story to share. When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau.
Trade Reviews
Booklist Review
The lives of several strong women intervene in a complicated historical tale of love and war. Set in France's historic champagne vineyards, The Winemaker's Wife begins with rising anxiety about the Nazi's arrival to Maison Chauveau in 1940. Inès Chauveau and her husband/vineyard owner Michael work alongside Theo Laurent, Maison Chauveau's chef de cave or cellar master and his wife Céline. Céline, considered a Jew based on her father's family even though her mother was Catholic, fears the arrival of Germans the most. The story then jumps to the present day with Liv Kent's divorce and the unexpected appearance of her grandmother Edith who whisks her away to Paris. Edith becomes elusive about their purpose in Europe and Liv is introduced to a dashing young lawyer handling her grandmother's affairs. Shifting years and perspectives, lives intersect as Liv, Céline, and Inès cope with fast changes and romantic mistakes. This WW2 novel takes a unique approach with details of the winemaking process highlighting the author's research into the Champagne region.--Monica Garza Bustillo Copyright 2010 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1