Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Beach house for rent
2019
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary
Get swept away to the beautiful and breezy Isle of Palms with New York Times bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe's return to her "exceptional and heartwarming" ( Publishers Weekly ) Beach House series, set in South Carolina's lowcountry.

Two women. One summer. One very special beach house.

Cara Rutledge rents her quaint cottage on Isle of Palms to Heather Fordham for the entire summer. As beautiful as the Isle of Palms is, Heather's anxiety keeps her indoors with her caged canaries as she paints birds for postage stamps. Eventually, however, the shore birds--and a man who rescues them--lure her outside.

As the summer progresses and Heather begins to blossom, Cara's life reels with sudden tragedy. She wants only to return home but Heather refuses to budge from her sanctuary. As everything around the ladies is coming apart, they discover they can only rely on each other. Now, the two women who don't really know each other are forced to live together and support each other as they navigate the next chapter of their lives.

Featuring Monroe's signature "lyrical, emotional, and gripping" ( RT Book Reviews ), Beach House for Rent demonstrates the power and strength of female friendships.
Trade Reviews
Booklist Review
Cara Rutledge's beach house in the low country of South Carolina has always been a peaceful refuge. The old house is a labor of love, fixed up to be in prime shape for the summer rental season. This year's inhabitant is Heather Wyatt, a shy artist hoping to regain a sense of independence while she paints the coastal shorebirds. Calm, confident Cara and skittish Heather couldn't be more different, until a sudden tragedy shakes Cara to her core. Heather offers to let Cara move back into the beach house for the rest of the summer, and the new roommates lean on each other while accessing strengths they never knew they had. Monroe's newest installation in her Beach House series also serves as a stand-alone novel, but faithful readers will recognize her ability to blend uniquely human stories with pressing environmental issues. Fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Mary Simses will adore this novel of simple pleasures, shifting priorities, and the power of self-discovery. Tender and inspiring with a touch of romance, it's just the thing to fill an empty beach bag.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2017 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1