Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The shameless
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Buried secrets, dirty lies, and unbridled greed and ambition raise the stakes down South in the lauded crime series from New York Times bestselling author Ace Atkins.

Twenty years ago, Brandon Taylor was thought to be just another teen boy who ended his life too soon. That's what almost everyone in Tibbehah County, Mississippi, said after his body and hunting rifle were found in the Big Woods. Now two New York-based reporters show up asking Sheriff Quinn Colson questions about the Taylor case. What happened to the evidence? Where are the missing files? Who really killed Brandon?

Quinn wants to help. After all, his wife Maggie was a close friend of Brandon Taylor. But Quinn was just a kid himself in 1997, and these days he's got more on his plate than twenty-year-old suspicious death. He's trying to shut down the criminal syndicate that's had a stranglehold on Tibbehah for years, trafficking drugs, stolen goods, and young women through the MidSouth. Truck stop madam Fannie Hathcock runs most of that action, and has her eyes on taking over the whole show. And then there's Senator Jimmy Vardaman, who's cut out the old political establishment riding the Syndicate's money and power--plus a hefty helping of racism and ignorance--straight to the governor's office. If he manages to get elected, the Syndicate will be untouchable. Tibbehah will be lawless.

Quinn's been fighting evil and corruption since he was a kid, at home or as a U.S. Army Ranger in Afghanistan and Iraq. This time, evil may win out.
Trade Reviews
Booklist Review
The ninth in Atkins' Quinn Colson series finds the beleaguered sheriff of Tibbehah County, Mississippi, once again battling the Syndicate, mobsters who have run the county's illicit drug and prostitution business for decades. But this time Quinn has a more personal demon to battle: 20 years earlier, when Quinn was a schoolboy, teenager Brandon Taylor disappeared in Tibbehah's Big Woods, his body eventually found in a position suggesting suicide. Now a pair of New York podcasters have come to town, intent on reopening the case, which reverberates for Quinn in multiple ways: the boy's girlfriend at the time is now Quinn's wife, Maggie, and the then-sheriff, Quinn's uncle, who committed suicide himself, has been widely accused of corruption, a fact that the podcasters are attempting to tie directly to Brandon's case. Meanwhile, the gubernatorial campaign of State Senator Jimmy Vardaman, long in the Syndicate's pocket, is gaining steam, with Quinn still a burr in the would-be governor's saddle. Atkins' signature blend of country noir and southern humor remains on display here, though this time the focus is on the personal traumas in the Quinn family's closets. Another strong outing in a consistently fine series.--Bill Ott Copyright 2019 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1