Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Mourning has broken : love, loss and reclaiming joy
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?

"A gift of love to others who are seeking solace." --Olivia Newton-John

On the morning of May 11, 2015, Erin Davis, one of Canada's most beloved radio personalities, suffered a devastating blow

Erin was on set in Jamaica when she received the news that her twenty-four-year-old daughter, Lauren--who had marked a joyous Mother's Day just hours before--had failed to awaken to her baby's cries. Thus began Erin's journey of grieving out loud with her family, friends and listeners, and of demonstrating how to pick up and keep going after experiencing the worst loss a parent can endure. Struck with grief and unable to find the answer to why Lauren had died, Erin and her husband, Rob, started down the long road through loss, determined not only to survive but also to reclaim the joy in their lives.

Inspiring and unflinching, Mourning Has Broken charts a way forward after life has dealt a crushing blow. It reminds us that we are not alone in grief, and that although life is unpredictable and unfair, we can survive and return to joy.

Map It
Large Cover Image
Table of Contents
Forewordp. ix
Prologue: Mother's Day. The Exit Interviewp. 1
Chapter 1A Very Special Child (just Like Yours!)p. 11
Chapter 2We Are (REaL) Familyp. 45
Chapter 3The End of the Beginningp. 79
Chapter 4Saying Goodbyep. 103
Chapter 5No Easy Answersp. 131
Chapter 6Moving Forward: Life After Laurenp. 151
Chapter 7Soul Survivorsp. 187
Chapter 8Surviving the Worst That Could Happenp. 233
Chapter 9I'll Drink to That: My Own Personal Rock Bottomp. 251
Chapter 10Purposeful Mourningp. 287
Chapter 11Dreaming a Little Dreamp. 319
Postscript: The Story of "Our" Hummingbirdp. 351
Acknowledgementsp. 353
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1