Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
City of ghosts
2018
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary

From #1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost.

So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger.

When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift," she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil -- and herself.

And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined.

NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost . . .).

Trade Reviews
School Library Journal Review
Gr 4-8-Cassidy is looking forward to a mostly ghost-free summer vacation when her parents, paranormal history authors, break the news that, instead of a summer at the shore, their family will be traveling to Edinburgh to investigate the most haunted places in Scotland. This trip of a lifetime is exciting but also scary for Cassidy, who has the power to cross "the Veil" and see ghosts ever since her brush with death. Thankfully, her best friend, a ghost named Jacob, comes along for the trip and helps her navigate the haunted streets of Edinburgh. Cass encounters some scary haunts and is forced to reckon with the strongest ghost she has ever met, all while learning the true purpose of her powers. Schwab paints an eerie portrait of haunted locales and her descriptions of the various ghosts and their terrible ends will send shivers down even the bravest readers' spines. She also portrays modern Edinburgh with accuracy, and readers will be eager to look up pictures of the medieval castle looming over modern streets. The story moves quickly, and children will be intrigued enough to keep reading even in light of the terrifying events. VERDICT This fast-paced, spooky ghost story filled with international adventure is sure to please horror enthusiasts and armchair travelers.-Ellen Conlin, Naperville Public Library, IL © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Booklist Review
A near-death experience leaves Cassidy Blake altered and with a ghost named Jacob for a best friend, their existences somehow entwined. She can also sense other ghosts and, when she chooses, pull back the Veil between the living world and the dead to visit spirits caught in a kind of limbo. When her parents paranormal investigators, who, ironically, can't see Jacob begin hosting a ghost-hunting TV show, the Blakes travel to Scotland to film in Edinburgh's most haunted areas, which exercise an alarmingly strong pull on Cass. As she and Jacob puzzle through why this might be, they meet another girl who not only has the same ability as Cass but reveals the ability's purpose. Schwab ratchets up the tension when a malevolent ghost targets Cass, putting her life on the line once more. Readers craving a spooky story that won't terrorize their dreams will do well with this. Genuine frights are offset by Cass' rapport with Jacob, which injects a steady stream of humor into the spirited, mysterious narrative. A polished, fast-paced read, sure to be popular. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Schwab's YA fantasies are regularly best-sellers, and this has every reason to follow suit.--Smith, Julia Copyright 2010 Booklist
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1