Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The high season
2018
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary
In a beach town overrun with vacationers and newly colonized by socialites, one woman goes to extreme lengths when the life she loves is upended. The ultimate summer read, this novel of money, class, and family is perfect for fans of Meg Wolitzer, Curtis Sittenfeld, and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest.

No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet village two ferry rides from the glitzier Hamptons, the house is Ruthie's nest egg-the retirement account shared with her ex-husband, Mike, and the college fund for their teenage daughter, Jem. The catch? To afford the house, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year.

It's Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what Jem calls "the summer bummer"- the family's annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a "gorgeous satellite" stepson.

The widow of a blue-chip artist, in a world defined by luxury and ease, Adeline demonstrates an uncanny ability to help herself to Ruthie's life. Is Adeline just being her fabulous self, or is she out to take what she wants?

When an eccentric billionaire, his wayward daughter, a coterie of social climbers, and Ruthie's old flame are thrown into the mix, the entire town finds itself on the verge of tumultuous change. But as Ruthie loses her grasp on her job, her home, and her family, she discovers a new talent for pushing back. By the end of one unhinged, unforgettable summer, nothing will be the same-least of all Ruthie.

In a novel packed with indelible characters, crackling wit, and upstairs/downstairs drama, Judy Blundell emerges as a voice for all seasons-a wry and original storyteller who knows how the most disruptive events in our lives can twist endings into new beginnings.

"Sharply observed and beautifully written, The High Season is like a cold martini on a hot summer night- Refreshing and intoxicating at the same time."-Janelle Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear

"Judy Blundell's debut novel The High Season will hit the summer like a blazing comet of wit, poignancy, and lines that make one stop and sizzle with awe. I'm a fan of Judy Blundell for life!"-Mary Alice Monroe,New York Times bestselling author of Beach House Reunion
Trade Reviews
Booklist Review
Every summer, local museum director Ruthie Beamish, her teenage daughter, and her ex-husband vacate their house near the Hamptons to capitalize on summer rents. This year's renter, Adeline Clay, is the widow of the late Peter Clay, a renowned artist for whom Ruthie worked in the 1990s. A summer bummer in a board member's guest house turns into a disaster when, in one day, Ruthie is unceremoniously fired and discovers that her ex is sleeping with Adeline. Meanwhile, Doe Callender alternates between sucking up to and scamming the Long Island elite as an anonymous gossip blogger. Then she meets Lark Mantis, and for the first time, Doe has to deal with actual feelings. Doe and Ruthie occupy different spheres orbiting the rich and fabulous, and they are on an inverse course, with Doe toying with sincerity and Ruthie flirting with her inner criminal. Ruthie's journey is especially satisfying, and although some threads are left untied, Blundell's (A City Tossed and Broken, 2013) engrossing novel has enough high-society proximity to make it beachy, but enough emotional reality to make it resonate.--Maguire, Susan Copyright 2018 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1