Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
My magic breath : finding calm through mindful breathing
2018
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary

From New York Times bestselling author Nick Ortner comes a beautiful picture book that will help children discover calm through the magic of mindful breathing:

Do YOU have the magic breath?

Let's see...Take a deeeeeep breath in...and BLOW it out...

...and like magic, you can feel better just by breathing! Sometimes it's hard to feel happy. But with this interactive picture book, children breathe along as they learn how to make angry or sad thoughts disappear.

In a world that is sometimes too busy, with too many things going on, My Magic Breath will help steer children into a serene space of mindfulness, self-awareness, and balance.

A wonderful classroom and naptime story, this book is perfect for fans of Susan Verde's I Am Yoga and I Am Peace, Mariam Gates's Good Night Yoga, and Deborah Underwood's The Quiet Book.

Trade Reviews
School Library Journal Review
PreS-Gr 1-An illustrated guide to mindful breathing for young readers. The first line asks: "Do you have the magic breath?" Simple text then leads readers through a series of breathing cues, prompting them to focus on happy thoughts and to push away sad ones. ("Sometimes when you are worried, or nervous, or sad, deep breaths can help push some of those thoughts away. Think about when you feel happy!") This kind of language can be misleading as mindfulness is not about "pushing away" bad or sad thoughts but rather acknowledging them and being mindful of their presence and impact. The illustrations and text fall into tropes of blue tones being associated with sad thoughts and bright colors with happiness. A full-page spread of bright yellow, orange, green, and purple swirls and flowers reads: "Now, that looks like happiness. Keep blowing! Keep thinking happy!" The text and illustrations teeter on the edge of sappy and saccharine, many times toppling over. VERDICT A book that does not beg more than one reading either in a group setting or one-on-one. Most collections will want to skip.-Megan Kilgallen, Packer Collegiate Institute, Brooklyn © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Map It
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1