Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The final six
2018
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary

Set in the near future, this action-packed YA novel--already optioned by Sony Pictures--will take readers out of this world and on a quest to become one of six teens sent on a mission to Jupiter's moon. This is the next must-read for fans of Illuminae and The Martian.



When Leo and Naomi are drafted, along with twenty-two of the world's brightest teenagers, into the International Space Training Camp, their lives are forever changed. Overnight, they become global celebrities in contention for one of the six slots to travel to Europa--Jupiter's moon--and establish a new colony, leaving their planet forever. With Earth irreparably damaged, the future of the human race rests on their shoulders.

For Leo, an Italian championship swimmer, this kind of purpose is a reason to go on after losing his family. But Naomi, an Iranian-American science genius, is suspicious of the ISTC and the fact that a similar mission failed under mysterious circumstances, killing the astronauts onboard. She fears something equally sinister awaiting the Final Six beneath Europa's surface.

In this cutthroat atmosphere, surrounded by strangers from around the world, Naomi finds an unexpected friend in Leo. As the training tests their limits, Naomi and Leo's relationship deepens with each life-altering experience they encounter.

But it's only when the finalists become fewer and their destinies grow nearer that the two can fathom the full weight of everything at stake: the world, the stars, and their lives.

Trade Reviews
School Library Journal Review
Gr 9 Up-In this tale of terror and dystopia, Earth faces its last days. No one knows how long they have. Humans are finally working together because they have a common enemy-the climate. Of course, the fate of humanity lies in the hands of six teenagers from around the world. The only answer is to force 24 teens (affectionately known as The Twenty-Four) to compete for six prized spots on a trip to Jupiter's moon, Europa, where they will begin to colonize it-unless it is already inhabited by intelligent life, but no one bothered to look that far ahead. Monir handles her action scenes elegantly, creating moments so intense the pages practically fly by. However, these moments are few and far between and struggle to be heard over the rest of the book. This sci-fi adventure is written from the first-person point of view of two narrators. The two protagonists, Naomi and Leo, though clearly meant to have distinct personalities, are difficult to tell apart. Leo stops using his distinct Italian words and phrases early on while Naomi's narrative never had something to distinguish it to begin with. The plot is also heavily reliant on popular young adult tropes and lacks originality, despite the possibility of aliens. VERDICT This is not standout; for large collections only.-Ruth Shaw, Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale, FL © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Booklist Review
In a future Earth hopelessly devastated by climactic disasters, all scientific resources are diverted to the mission of colonizing a new planet. The brightest of Earth's remaining young adults are drafted and forced to compete against one another to prove their value to the mission. Leo is desperate to escape Earth, while Naomi wants to stay home and take her chances, mistrustful of scientists ready to risk anything to prevent humanity's extinction. As liftoff nears, the two teens must turn to each other for solace and survival. The book's opening grips the reader with powerful, emotional descriptions of the climate's toll. Soon, though, the story moves to a less striking laboratory-dormitory setting, along with a more familiar drama. The emerging conspiracy plot holds few surprises, although the outcome of the mission is left in suspense for a potential sequel. Considering that the book has already been optioned for film, cinematic action and an appealing romance are a given, and its multinational, multiethnic characters are a bonus.--Kelly, Carolyn Copyright 2017 Booklist
Map It
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1