Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The orphan's tale
2017
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary
Look out for Pam's new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II.

A New York Times bestseller!

"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " --Library Journal

"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion.... I read this novel in a headlong rush." --Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep... When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night.

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another--or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
Trade Reviews
Booklist Review
When Dutch teen Noa is thrown out of her house after her father discovers she is pregnant by a German soldier, she finds refuge in a circus. She has an infant in tow not her own, which was taken by the Reich, but one she has rescued from a boxcar full of Jewish babies. Also finding refuge in the circus is celebrated aerialist Astrid, whose husband, a German officer, has divorced her because she is a Jew. Herr Neuhoff, the circus proprietor, orders her to train Noa on the trapeze, and despite Astrid's misgivings, the two develop a bond. As the circus leaves its winter quarters and travels into France, danger mounts. There will be trouble if it becomes known that Herr Neuhoff is harboring Jews, and Astrid's lover, Peter, a Russian clown, insists on ridiculing the Germans in his act. Meanwhile, love blooms between Noa and Luc, the son of a Nazi collaborator. The busy plot with its combination of circus life and wartime peril will keep Jenoff's (The Last Summer at Chelsea Beach, 2015) fans intrigued.--Quinn, Mary Ellen Copyright 2016 Booklist
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1