Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The party
2017
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary
Robyn Harding's domestic drama, hailed as "tense and riveting" by Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls, explores the aftermath of a sweet sixteen birthday party that goes horribly awry, as the members of a wealthy family in San Francisco find their picture-perfect life unraveling, their darkest secrets revealed, and their friends turned to enemies.

One invitation. A lifetime of regrets.

Sweet sixteen. It's an exciting coming-of-age, a milestone, and a rite of passage. Jeff and Kim Sanders plan on throwing a party for their daughter, Hannah--a sweet girl with good grades and nice friends. Rather than an extravagant, indulgent affair, they invite four girls over for pizza, cake, movies, and a sleepover. What could possibly go wrong?

But things do go wrong, horrifically so, and Jeff and Kim's flawless life in a wealthy San Francisco suburb suddenly begins to come apart. In the ugly aftermath, friends become enemies, dark secrets are revealed in the Sanders' marriage, and the truth about their perfect daughter is exposed.

Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies , this is a white-knuckled and "riveting tale that is impossible to put down" (Bill Clegg, New York Times bestselling author of Did You Ever Have a Family ).
Trade Reviews
Booklist Review
After a sweet-16 party gone horribly wrong, a well-to-do family's life is threatened to its breaking point in Harding's (Chronicles of a Midlife Crisis, 2010) domestic drama. Kim Sanders has worked hard to create a perfect life for her family, and on the surface, she has succeeded. A successful husband, kids who excel in school and sport, and a home in an expensive San Francisco neighborhood signify her triumph. But only Kim knows the truth: her marriage is falling apart since she found her husband with drugs more than a year ago, and she's considering an affair with a coworker. After her daughter's birthday party turns tragic, the secrets threaten her carefully constructed facade. As the bad decisions keep piling up, Kim becomes her own worst enemy. With teenagers worthy of Mean Girls, and a healthy dose of suspense, The Party reads like a cross between Megan Abbott and Jodi Picoult by way of James Patterson. More nuanced characters would be welcome, but this doesn't stop the race to find out how all is resolved.--Sexton, Kathy Copyright 2017 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1