Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Caraval
2017
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary

The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to Caraval -- Stephanie Garber's sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It's the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

New York Times bestseller
#1 IndieNext Pick
Publishers Weekly Flying Start
Entertainment Weekly Best 10 YA Books of 2017
Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the Year
Amazon Best Book of the Year
Barnes & Noble Best Book of the Year
BuzzFeed Best Book of the Year
" The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus . Grade: A-." -- Entertainment Weekly
"Impressive, original, wondrous. " -- USA Today
"Spellbinding." -- US Weekly
"Magnificent." -- Publishers Weekly , starred review
"I lost myself in this world." --Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
"Beautifully written." --Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
"Shimmers with magic." --Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner's Curse
"Darkly enchanting." --Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
"Decadent." --Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen
"Like stepping into a living dream." --Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
"Destined to capture imaginations." -- Kirkus Reviews
" Ideal for fans of The Night Circus , Stardust , and The Hunger Games. " -- School Library Journal

Trade Reviews
School Library Journal Review
Gr 8 Up-Scarlett and her sister, Donatella, have been raised on a remote island by a demanding and cruel father. Scarlett is about to be married to a man she's never met, and though her long-held dream of receiving an invitation to Caraval, the once-a-year, fantastical, immersive performance, has come true, she believes attending would jeopardize her wedding and destroy her sole chance to get herself and Tella away from their father. When her sister teams up with a sailor to trick Scarlett onto a ship and take her anyway, the heroine plans to stay for a night or two, then return home for her wedding. But then Tella is kidnapped by Legend, Caraval's mysterious mastermind, and the protagonist learns that she can get her sister back only if she plays Legend's game for five nights-and wins. It won't be easy, though. Nothing (and no one) at Caraval is what it seems: time speeds up, clothing morphs according to its own agenda, and players may be called on to pay for things with their deepest fears or two days of their lives. Without knowing whom she can trust, including her own reason and senses, Scarlett must work out where her sister is and how to save her. This twisty, terrifically fun page-turner is ideal for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Neil Gaiman's Stardust, and fantasy novels where relationships between sisters drive the plot, such as "The Hunger Games" or Rosamund Hodge's Cruel Beauty. VERDICT A must-have fantasy debut for high school collections.-Stephanie Klose, School Library Journal © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Booklist Review
Scarlett and her sister, Tella, have grown up on stories of Caraval, a magical game run by a magician named Legend stories that helped them momentarily escape their grim existence with their abusive, controlling father. Now, weeks away from marrying a man she hasn't met, Scarlett receives an invitation to the enchanting palace, and Tella is determined to go, even if it means kidnapping her own sister to get there. When they arrive, they get separated, and driven by both the enticing candy-colored magic and her urge to find her sister, Scarlett plays Legend's seemingly innocuous game. Of course, all those flying creatures, enchanted ball gowns, and miraculous estates hide something sinister, and with the help of a handsome, rugged sailor, Scarlett uncovers secrets about both her own past and the true dangers of Caraval. While Scarlett is sometimes a frustratingly inept protagonist, Garber's rich, vivid scene setting and descriptions make for entertaining reading, and the conclusion hints at a sequel focused on Tella. A colorful, imaginative fantasy with some steamy romance for good measure.--Hunter, Sarah Copyright 2016 Booklist
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1