Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The sun is also a star
2016
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary

The Instant  New York Times Bestseller! Soon to be a Major Motion Picture!

The dazzling new novel from Nicola Yoon, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything (in theaters May 2017!),   will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other!

Natasha: I'm a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I'm definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won't be my story.

Daniel:  I've always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents' high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store--for both of us.

The Universe:  Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

***

A 2016 National Book Award Finalist
A New York Times Notable Book
A BuzzFeed Best YA Book of the Year
A POPSUGAR Best Book of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
A Booklist Editor's Choice
A New York Public Library Best Book for Teens
An Amazon Best Book of the Year

" Beautifully crafted ."-- People Magazine

"A book that is very much about the many factors that affect falling in love, as much as it is about the very act itself . . . fans of Yoon's first novel, Everything Everything , will find much to love --if not, more--in what is easily an even stronger follow up." -- Entertainment Weekly

" Transcends the limits of YA as a human story about falling in love and seeking out our futures." --POPSUGAR.com

★ "An exhilarating, hopeful novel exploring identity, family, the love of science and the science of love, dark matter and interconnectedness--is about seeing and being seen and the possibility of love... a nd it shines."  -- Shelf Awareness, starred review 
 
★ "Moving and suspenseful ." -- Publishers Weekly , starred review 

★ "Fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars  are destined to fall for Daniel and Natasha ." -- The Horn Book , starred review

★ "Lyrical and sweeping, full of hope, heartbreak, fate . . . and the universal beating of the human heart." -- Booklist , starred review

★" Profound . . . both deeply moving and satisfying."-- Kirkus , starred review 

★"A love story that is smart without being cynical, heartwarming without being cloying, and schmaltzy in all the best ways ." -- The Bulletin , starred review 

"This wistful love story will be adored by fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park." --SLJ

Praise for Everything, Everything :

"[A] fresh, moving debut." -- Entertainment Weekly

" Gorgeous and lyrical ." -- The New York Times Book Review

" Will give you butterflies ." -- Seventeen

 "A do-not-miss for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell (aka everyone)." -- Justine

 "YA book lovers, your newest obsession is here."--MTV.com

Trade Reviews
School Library Journal Review
Gr 9 Up-Two lives are changed forever when Natasha, an undocumented Jamaican teen seeking legal help on her last day in the country before she and her family are deported, and Daniel, a budding Korean American poet on his way to a Yale admissions interview and a future he doesn't want as a doctor, meet on the bustling streets of New York City. Daniel knows it's fate and sets out to convince the practical and scientific Natasha that they are "meant to be." Over the course of the day, they debate love and destiny, but neither can deny the connection between them, nor that time is not on their side. The superb Printz Honor title is brought to life by dual narrators Bahni Turpin and Raymond Lee, with occasional sections performed by Dominic Hoffman. Turpin and Lee fully express the emotions of the two teens as they fall in love, and they also provide performances for the parents, who play integral roles in the protagonists' lives. This story belongs to Natasha and Daniel, and Turpin and Lee. The narrators do a stellar job of conveying the characters' individual and interwoven journeys. Part coming-of-age, part romance, and all extraordinary. VERDICT Charming and sensitive, an ideal choice for today's teens. ["This wistful love story will be adored by fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park and by those who enjoyed the unique narrative structure of A.S. King's Please Ignore Vera Dietz": SLJ 8/16 review of the Delacorte book.]-Amanda Raklovits, Champaign Public Library, IL © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Booklist Review
*Starred Review* On a summer morning in New York City, Daniel and Natasha wake up as strangers. This is a day that could catapult their lives into entirely new directions that neither of them wants to take. Natasha has only hours left to prevent her family's deportation to Jamaica, after a minor legal infraction jeopardizes their stay in the U.S. Daniel dreads sealing his fate with an alumni interview that will pave his way to a career in medicine, as his Korean family expects. Despite a day packed with Natasha's desperate race against time and a tangled system, and Daniel's difficult tug-of-war between familial pressures and autonomy, love finds a way in, takes hold, and changes them both forever. Yoon's sophomore effort (Everything, Everything, 2015) is carefully plotted and distinctly narrated in Natasha's and Daniel's voices; yet it also allows space for the lives that are swirling around them, from security guards to waitresses to close relatives. It's lyrical and sweeping, full of hope, heartbreak, fate, and free will. It encompasses the cultural specifics of diverse New York City communities and the universal beating of the human heart. Every day like every book begins full of possibility, but this one holds more than others. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Yoon's debut became a best-seller, so the publisher is giving this a strong push that includes a national author tour.--Booth, Heather Copyright 2016 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1