Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Rebel of the sands
2016
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary
"You will cheer for Amani the whole way as she escapes the bonds of oppression and finds her own power, and you will mark your calendar for the sequel."--Rae Carson, bestselling author of the Fire & Thorns trilogy

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mythical beasts still roam the wild and remote areas, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinn still perform their magic.  For humans, it's an unforgiving place, especially if you're poor, orphaned, or female. 

Amani Al'Hiza is all three.  She's a gifted gunslinger with perfect aim, but she can't shoot her way out of Dustwalk, the back-country town where she's destined to wind up wed or dead.

Then she meets Jin, a rakish foreigner, in a shooting contest, and sees him as the perfect escape route. But though she's spent years dreaming of leaving Dustwalk, she never imagined she'd gallop away on mythical horse--or that it would take a foreign fugitive to show her the heart of the desert she thought she knew.

Rebel of the Sands reveals what happens when a dream deferred explodes--in the fires of rebellion, of romantic passion, and the all-consuming inferno of a girl finally, at long last, embracing her power.
Trade Reviews
School Library Journal Review
Gr 7 Up-Surviving life in the desert of Miraji is difficult and even more so if the person is the orphaned daughter of foreign invaders. Amani wants more than anything to escape Dustwalk and make her way to Izman. When she meets Jin, however, her plans change as she is drawn into a world she never imagined, one full of magic and rebellion. Through Jin, she learns to care for someone other than herself and that her hidden power just might save her country. Soneela Nankani narrates with the skill of a seasoned storyteller, pulling listeners into a world reminiscent of the American West and the Middle East, one filled with bullets and djinni. Nankani articulates well the subtle accents and personalities of the characters, and she conveys Amani's naïveté as she journeys into an unknown yet familiar world. VERDICT Full of romance and adventure, this audiobook would be a good fit for fans of Westerns and One Thousand and One Nights. ["A readable, middle-of-the-pack "teens save the world" story. Consider for large collections": SLJ 1/16 review of the Viking book.]-Sarah Flood, Breckinridge County Public Library, Hardinsburg, KY © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Booklist Review
*Starred Review* Arabian Nights meets the Wild West in this thrilling debut novel. Amani can't wait to escape her small desert town. She knows she's meant for more, and she's counting on her sharpshooting skills to help her find a way out of Dustwalk. When she meets the mysterious Jin, a charming foreigner who is wanted for treason, she decides he can be her escape. Amani ends up on an exciting journey where mythical beasts rise, djinni wield magical powers, and the sultan's army is on the hunt. As whispers of a rebel prince start echoing through Miraji, Amani finds herself unexpectedly caught up in a revolution; but, once within it, she discovers more about herself than she ever imagined. This atmospheric fantasy combines magic, mythology, and the Wild West to create a riveting tale. Amani is a strong heroine who is witty and willful. The supporting cast of characters is well drawn, and the story is full of surprising twists that will leave readers satisfied yet still eager for a sequel. Although many familiar tales echo within its pages, this is an exciting, romantic adventure that is all its own.--Thompson, Sarah Bean Copyright 2016 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1