Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Slasher girls & monster boys
2015
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary
For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, American Horror Story  and The Walking Dead  comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best thriller and horror writers in YA

A host of the sharpest young adult authors come together in this collection of terrifying tales and psychological thrillers. Each author draws from a mix of literature, film, television, and music to create something new and fresh and unsettling. Clever readers will love teasing out the references and can satisfy their curiosity at the end of each tale, where the inspiration is revealed. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From blood horror, to the supernatural, to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for anyone looking for an absolute thrill.

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters
Trade Reviews
School Library Journal Review
Gr 9 Up-Robbie Daymond, Emma Bering, Nora Hunter, Jorjeana Marie, Julia Whelan, and MacLeod Andrews breathe life into this collection of creepy stories. Some suggest traditional tales, including Megan Shepherd's "Hide and Seek," a game played with Death, who, of course, always wins. In Jay Kristoff's "Sleepless," things are not what they seem when the romantic hero turns out to be a killer, although his last intended victim evens the score. The variety of voices are well matched to the entries: a nervous girl narrates Nova Ren Suma's "Birds of Azalea Street," while a sultry older woman remembers a terrifying tea party in Carrie Ryan's "In the Forest Dark and Deep." Unfortunately, there are no notes matching narrators' names to titles, and awkwardly, many selections begin on one CD and end on another. -VERDICT Horror fans will enjoy, but it's not for the squeamish. ["Worth checking out, but not for the faint of heart": SLJ 7/15 review of the Dial book.]-Toby -Rajput, National Louis University, Skokie, IL © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Booklist Review
In this collection, 14 hot YA authors mine familiar elements from popular culture to craft new tales of supernatural horror and psychological suspense. The author's inspiration is revealed at the end of each story, ranging from slasher flicks like I Know What You Did Last Summer to classics such as Frankenstein. Leigh Bardugo's haunting Verse Chorus Verse, about a pop star sent to a haunted addiction center, is even inspired by a Nirvana song. In several stories, girls who have been wronged turn the tables on their tormentors. In Carrie Ryan's In the Forest Dark and Deep, a bullied girl's revenge comes in the form of a monstrous March Hare and a nightmare tea party, while murdered girls littering a highway can revive long enough to hunt their killers in Kendare Blake's On the I-5. Other stories explore just deserts from another angle, as in Jay Kristoff's Sleepless, where an online predator looking for his soul mate gets more than he expected. This killer collection will satisfy any thriller junkie.--Hutley, Krista Copyright 2015 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1