Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Publisher, Date:
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2017.
Description:
x, 368 pages ; 24 cm.
Subjects:
Genre:
ISBN:
9781250077752 (hardcover)
9781250137197 (softcover)
System Availability:
29
Current Holds:
0
# Local items:
1
Control Number:
1489878
Course Reserves:
0
# Local items in:
1
# System items in:
26
Where is it?
Summary
<p>Sally Hepworth novels are "sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." -- Library Journal (s tarred review)</p> <p>All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe's father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works--until it doesn't. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life.</p> <p>Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets--secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother's Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged.</p>
Trade Reviews

  Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Readers should get ready for a good, ugly cry after reading Hepworth's latest (after The Things We Keep, 2015). Alice's cancer diagnosis sends her into a panic, not because of her uncertain prognosis but because her 15-year-old daughter, Zoe, has a paralyzing social-anxiety disorder that makes her dependent on Alice. With no father in the picture, Zoe will be stranded if Alice isn't there to care for her. Alice can't even bring herself to tell Zoe she's sick. Kate, Alice's nurse, and Sonja, a social worker from the hospital, want to help, but they're keeping secrets of their own, and only when everyone's secrets are revealed will they be able to help one another. Part tearjerker, part celebration of mothers, this story tugs at the heartstrings, guaranteeing that readers will smile through the tears. Narration by all four women contributes to the character development, yet Hepworth keeps up a quick pace that turns the story into a page-turner. All the pieces masterfully come together at the end to create a beautiful novel of courage and love in the face of sorrow.--Babiasz, Tracy Copyright 2016 Booklist
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Book
2017

Add to My List