Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Publisher, Date:
New York : Emily Bestler Books/Atria, 2017.
©2017
Description:
276 pages ; 24 cm
Subjects:
LCCN:
2016011400
ISBN:
9781501141546 (hardcover)
System Availability:
11
Current Holds:
0
# Local items:
1
Control Number:
1489875
Course Reserves:
0
# Local items in:
0
# System items in:
6
Where is it?
Summary
An elegant, page-turning thriller in the vein of Night Film and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter , this tautly crafted novel is about stories: the ones we tell, the ones we keep hidden, and the ones that we'll do anything to ensure they stay buried.<br> <br> When literary agent Peter Katz receives a partial book submission entitled The Book of Mirrors , he is intrigued by its promise and original voice. The author, Richard Flynn, has written a memoir about his time as an English student at Princeton in the late 1980s, documenting his relationship with the prot#65533;g#65533;e of the famous Professor Joseph Wieder. One night just before Christmas 1987, Wieder was brutally murdered in his home. The case was never solved. Now, twenty-five years later, Katz suspects that Richard Flynn is either using his book to confess to the murder, or to finally reveal who committed the violent crime.<br> <br> But the manuscript ends abruptly--and its author is dying in the hospital with the missing pages nowhere to be found. Hell-bent on getting to the bottom of the story, Katz hires investigative journalist John Keller to research the murder and reconstruct the events for a true crime version of the memoir. Keller tracks down several of the mysterious key players, including retired police detective Roy Freeman, one of the original investigators assigned to the murder case, but he has just been diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer's. Inspired by John Keller's investigation, he decides to try and solve the case once and for all, before he starts losing control of his mind. A trip to the Potosi Correctional Centre in Missouri, several interviews, and some ingenious police work finally lead him to a truth that has been buried for over two decades...or has it?<br> <br> Stylishly plotted, elegantly written, and packed with thrilling suspense until the final page, The Book of Mirrors is a book within a book like you've never read before.
Trade Reviews

  Booklist Review

Literary agent Peter Katz is intrigued by a partial book submission: a memoir by an unknown writer about his time as a student at Princeton in the late 1980s, and his relationship with a professor who was brutally murdered a high-profile crime that was never solved. Katz involves an investigative journalist and a retired police detective who had been assigned to the case in his pursuit of the concluding chapters. The story is told in several separate and distinct voices, and each character is revealed much like the nesting dolls of a matryoshka, all quite similar but somehow different. It is a testimony to the vagaries of memory, with suspects adept at deception and beset by senility, PTSD, amnesia, and enough variations on the theme to make Mnemosyne's head spin. A brilliant concept, but the narrative is marred by some awkward prose: How would you fit a pot of gold in your pocket, and how do you become a former baby boomer? This is Chirovici's debut novel, and editorial gaffes aside it shows promise.--Murphy, Jane Copyright 2017 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Book
2017

Add to My List