Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Dear Mrs. Bird
2018
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary
"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful." --Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina <br> <br> An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist-- a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls .<br> <br> London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle , her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down.<br> <br> Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.<br> <br> Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.
Trade Reviews

  Booklist Review

When Pearce happened upon a 1939 British women's magazine, the idea for her first novel was born. Pearce glimpsed a time when women faced unimaginably difficult situations and often had nowhere to turn besides writing a letter to the Problems Page. From those voices of the past arose heroine Emmeline Lake, a plucky young woman trying to do her part for the war effort. When Emmy hastily takes a job at Woman's Friend, a magazine on its last legs, her journalistic dreams seem dashed. Instead of gathering stories from the front line, she's under the thumb of conservative Mrs. Bird, who refuses to answer letters with any Unpleasantness. Deciding to take matters into her own hands, Emmy secretly replies to readers looking for guidance. But when her life changes forever after a German air raid, Emmy must end the ruse and face reality. Set against a backdrop of war-torn London, this is a charming and heartfelt novel. Pearce brings to life a tale of true friendship, and how love will outlast even the most challenging times.--Norstedt, Melissa Copyright 2010 Booklist
Map It
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1