Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Publisher, Date:
New York, New York : Delacorte Press, [2017]
©2017
Description:
417 pages ; 22 cm
Subjects:
Genre:
LCCN:
2016034305
ISBN:
9780399559372 (hardcover)
System Availability:
8
Current Holds:
0
# Local items:
8
Control Number:
1513977
Course Reserves:
0
# Local items in:
6
# System items in:
6
Where is it?
Summary
This romantic story of hope, chance, and change from the author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is one Jenny Han says is filled with all of her "favorite things," Morgan Matson calls "something wonderful" and Stephanie Perkins says "is rich with the intensity of real love."<br> <br> Alice doesn't believe in luck--at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she's been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday--just when it seems they might be on the brink of something--she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.<br> <br> At first, it seems like a dream come true, especially since the two of them are no strangers to misfortune. As a kid, Alice won the worst kind of lottery possible when her parents died just over a year apart from each other. And Teddy's father abandoned his family not long after that, leaving them to grapple with his gambling debts. Through it all, Teddy and Alice have leaned on each other. But now, as they negotiate the ripple effects of Teddy's newfound wealth, a gulf opens between them. And soon, the money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall.<br> <br> As they try to find their way back to each other, Alice learns more about herself than she ever could have imagined . . . and about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect. <br> <br> A Top Ten Summer '17 Kids Indie Next List Pick! <br> <br> Praise for Windfall : <br> <br> Featured in Seventeen Magazine's "What's Hot Now"<br> <br> " Windfall is about all of my favorite things--a girl's first big love, her first big loss, and--her first big luck."<br> --Jenny Han, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before <br> <br> " Windfall is perfectly named; reading it, I felt like I had suddenly found something wonderful. It's a story about love, and luck, and the way our lives can change in an instant. I laughed and cried and bought a lottery ticket the very next day."<br> --Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything <br> <br> " Windfall is rich with the intensity of real love-- in all its heartache and hope."<br> --Stephanie Perkins, New York Times bestselling author of Isla and the Happily Ever After <br> <br> "If you're looking for your next great read, then you're in "luck!" Smith combines humor and emotion to capture these characters' life-changing story, while teaching us all a bit about luck, love, kindness and the true meaning of home." -- Justine Magazine <br> <br> " Windfall is an absolutely brilliant story...you will def want to add this gem to your TBR pile."<br> --Susane Colasanti, bestselling author of When It Happens
Trade Reviews

  School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-What would you do if you won the lottery? A question almost everyone has contemplated becomes a reality for high school senior Teddy, who receives a winning ticket from his best friend, Alice. She bought the ticket on a whim, and it sends them down a much different path than either had anticipated. Both have had their share of struggles. Alice, an orphan, has moved to Chicago to live with her aunt, uncle, and cousin. Teddy's father is a gambling addict who left Teddy and his mother penniless. Winning millions of dollars seems to be the best thing that could have happened to Teddy, but Alice knows that more money means more problems, and she sees how the money changes Teddy and how others begin to behave around him. As Teddy continues to be oblivious to Alice's hopeless love for him, she finds herself battling old ghosts-and her heart. Smith weaves a poignant tale of teens coping with loss and change as they balance on the verge of adulthood. A story that could have easily skimmed the surface of emotions plunges head-on into the complexities of grief, loss, and love. Healthy doses of humor and small victories for the main characters keep the atmosphere from feeling too heavy, and Smith creates more gentle tension as readers wait to see if love blossoms and if Alice will do something just for herself. VERDICT Fans of Morgan Matson's and Deb Caletti's books will want to curl up with a box of tissues as they fall under Smith's storytelling spell. Recommended for most YA collections.-Carrie Finberg, South Park High School, PA © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Booklist Review

Luck isn't something that 18-year-old Alice is familiar with. When she was 9, her parents died just months apart from each other, and Alice moved to Chicago to live with her aunt and uncle. Alice honors her parents by volunteering and dreaming of Stanford, though her longing to return to California is tempered by her close relationships with her cousin Leo and her best friend, Teddy, whom Alice secretly loves. On Teddy's eighteenth birthday, Alice jokingly buys him a lottery ticket and he wins. Teddy, who lives in a one-bedroom apartment with his single, overworked mother, seems like the luckiest guy in the world. But as much as Alice wants to believe that this newfound wealth won't change him, a rift grows between them. Smith, no stranger to romance (Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between, 2015) crafts another thoughtful story about a girl on the brink of major change. Alice's struggles are relatable, and her feelings for Teddy ring true. Particularly well-developed secondary characters put the finishing touches on this lucky find. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: When it comes to teen romance, Smith is quickly becoming one of the big dogs; an extensive marketing and publicity campaign will only increase the buzz.--Reagan, Maggie Copyright 2017 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Book
2017

Add to My List