Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Windfall
2017
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary
This romantic story of hope, chance, and change from the author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is one JENNY HAN says is filled with all of her "favorite things," MORGAN MATSON calls "something wonderful" and STEPHANIE PERKINS says "is rich with the intensity of real love."<br> <br> Alice has never believed in luck, but that doesn't stop her from rooting for love. After pining for her best friend Teddy for years, she jokingly gifts him a lottery ticket--attached to a note professing her love--on his birthday. Then, the unthinkable happens: he actually wins . <br> <br> At first, it seems like the luckiest thing on earth. But as Teddy gets swept up by his $140 million windfall and fame and fortune come between them, Alice is forced to consider whether her stroke of good fortune might have been anything but.<br> <br> She bought a winning lottery ticket. He collected the cash. Will they realize that true love's the real prize?<br> <br> Featured in Seventeen Magazine's "What's Hot Now"<br> <br> " Windfall is about all of my favorite things --a girl's first big love, her first big loss, and--her first big luck."<br> -- JENNY HAN , New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before <br> <br> " Windfall is perfectly named; reading it, I felt like I had suddenly found something wonderful. "<br> -- MORGAN MATSON , New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything <br> <br> " Windfall is rich with the intensity of real love -- in all its heartache and hope."<br> -- STEPHANIE PERKINS , New York Times bestselling author of Isla and the Happily Ever After <br> <br> "If you're looking for your next great read, then you're in 'luck!'" -- Justine Magazine
Trade Reviews

  School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-What would you do if you won the lottery? A question almost everyone has contemplated becomes a reality for high school senior Teddy, who receives a winning ticket from his best friend, Alice. She bought the ticket on a whim, and it sends them down a much different path than either had anticipated. Both have had their share of struggles. Alice, an orphan, has moved to Chicago to live with her aunt, uncle, and cousin. Teddy's father is a gambling addict who left Teddy and his mother penniless. Winning millions of dollars seems to be the best thing that could have happened to Teddy, but Alice knows that more money means more problems, and she sees how the money changes Teddy and how others begin to behave around him. As Teddy continues to be oblivious to Alice's hopeless love for him, she finds herself battling old ghosts-and her heart. Smith weaves a poignant tale of teens coping with loss and change as they balance on the verge of adulthood. A story that could have easily skimmed the surface of emotions plunges head-on into the complexities of grief, loss, and love. Healthy doses of humor and small victories for the main characters keep the atmosphere from feeling too heavy, and Smith creates more gentle tension as readers wait to see if love blossoms and if Alice will do something just for herself. VERDICT Fans of Morgan Matson's and Deb Caletti's books will want to curl up with a box of tissues as they fall under Smith's storytelling spell. Recommended for most YA collections.-Carrie Finberg, South Park High School, PA © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

  Booklist Review

Luck isn't something that 18-year-old Alice is familiar with. When she was 9, her parents died just months apart from each other, and Alice moved to Chicago to live with her aunt and uncle. Alice honors her parents by volunteering and dreaming of Stanford, though her longing to return to California is tempered by her close relationships with her cousin Leo and her best friend, Teddy, whom Alice secretly loves. On Teddy's eighteenth birthday, Alice jokingly buys him a lottery ticket and he wins. Teddy, who lives in a one-bedroom apartment with his single, overworked mother, seems like the luckiest guy in the world. But as much as Alice wants to believe that this newfound wealth won't change him, a rift grows between them. Smith, no stranger to romance (Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between, 2015) crafts another thoughtful story about a girl on the brink of major change. Alice's struggles are relatable, and her feelings for Teddy ring true. Particularly well-developed secondary characters put the finishing touches on this lucky find. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: When it comes to teen romance, Smith is quickly becoming one of the big dogs; an extensive marketing and publicity campaign will only increase the buzz.--Reagan, Maggie Copyright 2017 Booklist
Map It
First Chapter or Excerpt
Fiction/Biography Profile
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1