Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Every time you go away
2018
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Summary
<p>In New York Times bestselling author Beth Harbison's most emotional novel ever, a fractured family must come together at a beach house haunted by the past.</p> <p>Willa has never fully recovered from the sudden death of her husband, Ben. She became an absent mother to her young son, Jamie, unable to comfort him while reeling from her own grief.</p> <p>Now, years after Ben's death, Willa finally decides to return to the beach house where he passed. It's time to move on and put the Ocean City, Maryland house on the market.</p> <p>When Willa arrives, the house is in worse shape than she could have imagined, and the memories of her time with Ben are overwhelming. They met at this house and she sees him around every corner. Literally. Ben's ghost keeps reappearing, trying to start conversations with Willa. And she can't help talking back.</p> <p>To protect her sanity, Willa enlists Jamie, her best friend Kristin, and Kristin's daughter Kelsey to join her for one last summer at the beach. As they explore their old haunts, buried feelings come to the surface, Jamie and Kelsey rekindle their childhood friendship, and Willa searches for the chance to finally say goodbye to her husband and to reconnect with her son.</p> <p> Every Time You Go Away is a heartfelt, emotional story about healing a tragic loss, letting go, and coming together as a family.</p>
Trade Reviews

  Booklist Review

Three years have passed and still Willa mourns the sudden death of her husband, Ben. He died while working on their beach house in Ocean City, Maryland, leaving Willa to care for their teenage son, Jamie. Willa supports herself and Jamie on her salary, but selling the beach house would give her some much-needed financial security. Once she arrives in Ocean City to pack up and sell the beloved house, she is terrified to confront the decades of happy memories that were shared there. She isn't surprised to find that the house needs a few repairs, and the tedium of patching, painting, and packing helps calm some of the emotional chaos. But Ben's presence seems closer than ever in the old house . . . maybe too close. A heartwarming story about love transcending time and space, Harbison's (One Less Problem without You, 2016) latest will appeal to fans of Sarah Healy and Nancy Thayer. Drenching readers in Willa's salt- and sun-soaked memories, Harbison avoids melodrama, instead tempering tragedy with wry humor, heartfelt introspection, and an unexpected romance.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2018 Booklist
Map It
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1